Nidahas Cup – India and Bangladesh Play Sri Lanka Tri-Series

India and Bangladesh will participate in the Nidahas Cup tri-nation tournament in Sri Lanka in March 2018.

According to the highly placed sources, the Indian cricket board and the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) have confirmed their participation as Sri Lanka will host the Nidahas Cup tournament as part of their 70th Independence Day celebrations.

Nidahas Cup India Sri Lanka Bangladesh

The formal announcement is likely to be made on Wednesday. The trophy will be named as Nidahas Trophy. Nidahas is the Sanskrit word meaning freedom.

The decision to play the format of the Nidahas Trophy will be announced on Wednesday. Considering the popularity of the T-20, the tournament is likely to be in the shortest format of the game.

The first Nidahas Trophy (in Sri Lanka) was played in 1998 to mark the 50th anniversary of freedom of Sri Lanka. India and New Zealand were the other two nations then. Arjuna Ranatunga (Sri Lanka), Mohammad Azharuddin (India) and Stephen Flemming (New Zealand) led the sides.

Bangladesh’s 100th Test

The BCB will present a memento to SLC chief Thilanga Sumathipala on the occasion of their 100th Test on Wednesday, it is also learnt here.

“The BCB president Nazmul Hasan Papon is arriving on Tuesday night and he will present the memento”, the source close to the Bangladesh team said.

“The memento is in the form of a bell (made in Bangladesh). The bell is rung five minutes before the commencement of the Test match on each day at Lord’s and Eden Gardens and the idea struck from to make the landmark Test”, the source further added.

No Replies to "Nidahas Cup - India and Bangladesh Play Sri Lanka Tri-Series"

    Got something to say?

    Some html is OK

    * Copy This Password *

    * Type Or Paste Password Here *

    6,293 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress