Wisden Cricketers of the Year to be announced on Wednesday

Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack will announce the Five Cricketers of the Year on Wednesday, according to its editor Lawrence Booth.

The Five Wisden Cricketers of the Year is an old tradition of the Wisden, also known as Bible of Cricket that dates back to 1889, and it is considered to be the oldest individual award in this game of cricket.

Wisden Cricketers 2017

Speaking exclusively over his mobile from London, he said, “It (the announcement date) is always the day of the Wisden dinner, which happens to be April 5 this year”.

“The invitees for the dinner are mixture of guests: journalists, administrators, players, sponsors etc. The Five Cricketers of the Year are also invited but those who can make it will turn up”, Booth added.

It is the discretion of the editor to chose the Five. “I select them, usually around November/December. It’s based on their contributions to the English summer which ends in September”.

“Only cricketers are named. It (choosing the five) can be tricky. But I’ve never felt any of my choices haven’t deserved”.

So who are those Five lucky this year? “It is kept secret till announced. It wouldn’t be fair to get into specifics”, he added.

“Wisden is published the following day. And yes, all Five get a special limited-edition leather-bound version|, Booth signed off.

This year’s edition has Team India captain Virat Kohli on the cover-page.

Wisden Cricketers of year 2017

No Replies to "Wisden Cricketers of the Year to be announced on Wednesday"

    Got something to say?

    Some html is OK

    * Copy This Password *

    * Type Or Paste Password Here *

    6,712 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress