Russell Returns to West Indies T20 Squad

Andre Russell’s Return to West Indies T20 Squad

For the first time since the 2021 T20 World Cup, Andre Russell has rejoined the West Indies T20I squad. Announced as part of a 15-member team, Russell’s inclusion comes ahead of the highly-anticipated five-match series against England in the Caribbean.

At 35, Russell has recently been active in the UAE, representing the Deccan Gladiators. Despite their narrow defeat to the New York Strikers in the Abu Dhabi T10 final, Russell’s performance remained noteworthy. He is scheduled to join the squad in Barbados, with the series’ opening match set for Bridgetown on Tuesday.

Emerging Talent and Experienced Returns

The squad sees the inclusion of Matthew Forde, a promising 21-year-old allrounder, marking his first T20 call-up after a recent ODI inclusion. Sherfane Rutherford also makes a comeback, featuring in the T20 setup for the first time since 2020.

Gudakesh Motie, celebrated for his left-arm spin, returns to the squad following an absence due to injury. The team also welcomes back Nicholas Pooran and Jason Holder, both rejoining after a hiatus from 50-over cricket.

A Prelude to the T20 World Cup

This series against the reigning T20 World Champions, England, holds significant importance for the West Indies. It serves as a vital preparation stage ahead of the next T20 World Cup, co-hosted by the West Indies and the USA in mid-2024.

With Shai Hope, the current standout batter and ODI captain, appointed as vice-captain, the team presents a blend of experience and emerging talent. Rovman Powell leads as captain, but notable players like Johnson Charles and Obed McCoy miss out on selection.

Final Preparations for the World Stage

Desmond Haynes, CWI’s lead selector, emphasized the importance of this series as the final home T20I for West Indies in 2023. The squad, he notes, is chosen with an eye on success at the upcoming World Cup. Adjustments to the team are possible before the series concludes in Trinidad.

The Complete West Indies Squad

The team, led by Rovman Powell (captain) and Shai Hope (vice-captain), includes a mix of seasoned players and fresh faces. The complete roster is as follows: Roston Chase, Matthew Forde, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, and Romario Shepherd.

Related Stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article